I go and get haircuts now 
pay for them all by myself
decide on the colour, and cut
choose it all by myself

No one holds my hand on the way there
or reminds me to look left and right
checks we're at the crossing
or that we've got the time right

It wasn't obvious that's what it would all be about
I Thought It Was More Than That
Like Making Sure Your Capitals Are All In The Right Place
And you're grammar is wright

Like I thought a man might bring me in weekly
to the bank
or his landlord shop
and make sure Everything Is All In Order.

But at the same time,
I always knew it would be fun to be in charge of myself

When I was a kid,
I would always plan these little getaways where we had a kitchen and no parents
We could cook our own food
Let ourselves in and out

of our own house

I always craved the freedom of my own little kitchen
and space
space shared with others
or space shared

with just myself

but I never imagined
how far it could go

that at 23 id be rearranging the rooms in our house
just like I always wanted

because now I'm adult
I can cut my own hair
if I like
or dye it blue

or someone else can

now I'm an adult
I can put ink all over my body
and make it stay forever
and no one can stop me

I can even do the stabbing myself

they won't see it and think I'm a dumb little kid
this time
they'll think I'm a slightly weird adult

Leave a comment