Read on for life changing perspective.

It’s difficult for me to find the balance between life and study death. I mean this in the most committed way- I do too much. Everyone tells me this, I can’t escape from the ‘Wow, you’re crazy”s and the ‘Emily, don’t worry.”s when I start to fret.

To tell the truth, I am just a very a motivated person, and I am so afraid of failing that I spend every waking moment making sure that I don’t. I do a lot because of this.

But, when you do too much, I think it’s important that you love it, so I only do the things that I love, and if I can’t… I find time. And this is great, because I love them and I love using my time to do them.

But what if you don’t have the time? I hear you ask, well, you make it, or you compromise. Or, you take a step back and think about what not having the time actually means. If you don’t have the time, and you certainly can’t find any, maybe you need to make some… for yourself.

If you were to spend every waking moment working or studying or organising, you wouldn’t have time to think about yourself, or your needs, and soon, you won’t be able to do anything at all.

Here, I highlight how you can avoid becoming me, and what I’ve been doing to… stop becoming me.

  1. Sit down (with toast, or another healthy snack) and ask yourself, ‘what do I want to do?’ and then do it. If you happen to like writing blog posts, write one, or if you enjoy meditation, do it! This is you time, you deserve this.
  2. Get a hot drink, treat yourself. Hot drinks are one of the healthiest treats out there- hot chocolate is hydration and pleasure, and it’s perfect. Hydrating yourself, first and foremost, eliminates headaches or grouchiness and brings you back down to earth from your angry cloud, and the pleasure of a good hot drink brings a feeling of being grateful, which we should all feel at least once a day.
  3. Write a list. It should consist of what you like doing and what you do in a day, compare them and make the necessary adjustments. Go for a run in the morning, watch an episode of your favourite show in the afternoon.
  4. Don’t start working when you get back from work. 6 hours of non-stop brain power? No thanks. Take an hour- bake, watch a show, do yoga- whatever makes you happy. 
  5. Make your bed every morning. Seriously. There is absolutely nothing better than coming home and seeing a made bed; you’re more relaxed, you feel more organised and accomplished- it is heaven, and it is so easy.
  6. Change into your pyjamas as soon as you get home. You’re comfortable, and even if you have lots of work to do, you don’t feel like you’re doing work, you’re comfortable, so you’re happy. 
  7. Stay organised– write a list and don’t let those papers pile up! It gives you a clear picture of what you need to do. If you’ve been super busy lately and you’re someone that likes to get everything done before it needs doing, take a break, and only do it when it needs doing. If you have an extra hour at work, do it then! And prioritise! Don’t do things that can wait, because if they are coming in months and you’re feeling drowned, you need to give them their time, and give yourself yours.
  8. Have a person or a thing written on your wall and look at it when you get sad. Mine is Amy Poehler, and whenever I am stressed or sad, I look at her name and I smile. If she can do it, then I can.
  9. Do it when it happens– Writing that action plan as soon as you need to is far more appealing than when you have 10 more to write. Washing it up after after you use it, even of you don’t quite have the energy, is far less stressful than seeing 20 plates piled up.
  10. Don’t feel bad about not doing something. It’s a waste of time, and it stresses you out. As long as you know you will get it done, and you set a time for a specific hour or for a specific day, then there is nothing to worry about. It happens as it happens, and it happens that you’ve got it under control. You can do it.

 

Leave a Reply

